Independent Travel: Weekends in Paris and Iceland

My best friend from GW is studying at GW Paris this semester and I was so lucky to spend the weekend with her. I had never been to Paris before so I was completely blown away all weekend! I figured I could share some travel tips since many people choose to do independent travel while at DIS.

First, I can’t stress how amazing the Arlanda Express is. One can pay about $32 for a round-trip ticket, and from T-Centralen, you sit for 18 minutes, and then you are at Arlanda Airport!

I had a very special package, Semlor and Princess Cake for my lovely friends. I had to have them try the delicious treats that I’ve been eating in Sweden.

At the airport, you go through the very relaxed and often quiet security. I did not put my liquids in a clear quart-sized bag, and I had to throw away my travel size shampoo and conditioner (sad) So, don’t make that mistake!

I then made my way to the gate and had the rare chance to have some Starbucks, very nostalgic!

PARIS

Paris was incredible. I ate plenty of croissants, baguettes, and crepes. I was so happy to catch up with my friend and spend time exploring her city. Some highlights were Musee D’Orsay, the Louvre, and the food!

ICELAND

After visiting Iceland, I can safely say I can die happy. It was one of the most beautiful, unique, and interesting countries I have ever visited. The geographic features blew me away!

BLUE LAGOON

I can see why the Blue Lagoon is considered one of the 25 wonders of the world. I had an incredible experience witnessing the power of geothermal energy and relaxing in the lagoon. We were even given silica face masks.

I am so grateful for these experiences, and I hoped to provide some insight or inspiration for those who wish to travel during their time. I know it is not feasible for everyone and let’s just say I was so happy to be back home in Stockholm 🙂

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started